Ronda Rousey unknowingly posts edited picture of herself

Famous UFC fighter, Ronda Rousey, was recently on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. As all guests do, they have several pictures taken while on the show. One of them was during the interview where Ronda is sitting, smiling, and resting her hands in her lap.

314F598000000578-3451598-Back_in_the_ring_Ronda_Rousey_will_take_on_Holly_Holm_again_When-m-81_1455737894612

Pretty, right? I think so.

When Rousey received the pictures from her team, they told her she could post them on Instagram to promote the show. This was the picture she posted.

Captur4e

These two pictures, believe or not, are slightly different. This picture is slightly altered. Rousey’s right arm is slimmed down more than in the first one. Here is a side by side comparison from her Instagram.

Capture5

The reason why this story made headlines was because Rousey unknowingly posted this picture that her team had given her. She had no idea the photo had been edited until later when she saw the photo again. The sad part? It wasn’t the Jimmy Fallon show that edited the picture, it was her own team. She was sort of betrayed by her own supporters. That’s pretty messed up if you ask me.

She spoke out saying on Instagram:

“I have to make an apology to everyone – I was sent a picture to share on social for Fallon that was altered without me knowing to make my arms look smaller. I won’t say by who – I know it was done with severely misplaced positive intentions – but this goes against everything I believe and I am extremely proud of every inch of my body. And I can assure you all it will never happen again. I could not be more appalled and hope you all forgive me.”

The problem here is that her own team member went behind her back and changed a perfectly nice picture. Rousey is happy with the way she looks. To alter that is such a betrayal of trust. I don’t know how trusting I would be of the people I worked with after that. Especially because they tricked her into posting the picture in the first place. What good does that do anyone? Body image is such a big issue today, and it’s rare for people to love the way they look. Ronda Rousey is one of those women. We should treasure that, not tear it down (especially on social media).

Ronda Rousey speaks out against the haters: 

Leave a comment